Monday, December 12, 2011

Monday 1.50 am.
There was a large and enthusiastic attendance at Boyle Senior Club AGM which was held in the Clubroom on Sunday evening last. Chairperson Aidan Lavin welcomed the attendance and thanked all who have been involved in any way with the Club, including the many panels of players and their respective management teams, the many Club sponsors, those who participated in fundraising, the pitch co-ordinator and the Pitch Committe, Gerard Tivnan and the FAS workers,to the local media for their excellent coverage of our activities, the supporters and his fellow officers. He congratulated all teams and their managements on their successes in 2011 and those who had got chosen on County panels during the year and those from the Club who had formed part of County team managements. He especially congratulated Donal and Enda Smith and Tadhg McKenna on winning Connacht Minor Championship medals and Donal on being chosen as Roscommon's Minor Footballer of the Year. The Chairperson extended best wishes to the many representatives from the Club who are becoming involved with county team managements in varying roles, including Jonathan Conroy, David Casey, Barry Greaney, Joe Sweeney and James O'Boyle.

Club Secretary Kathleen Hanmore's report chronicled a busy year for the Club, the highlight of which was the winning of the County Minor Division 1 title.

The Treasurer, Mary Smith outlined the financial position of the Club and detailed the various fundraising initiatives which are required to keep the Club in operation.
The following officers were elected for 2012;- President-John Joe Nerney, Vice Presidents-Paddy McDermott and Barry Feely, Chairperson-Aidan Lavin, Vice Chairperson-Martin Dolan, Secretary-Kathleen Hanmore, Assistant Secretary-Mary Clifford, Treasurer-Mary Smith, Assistant Treasurer-Mary Halligan, PROs -Martin Dolan and Tony Conboy, Insurance Officer- Michael Furey, Registrar-Brian Supple, Childrens'/ASAP Offficer-Jan Flanagan, County Board Delegates and History Committee-M.Clifford, M.Dolan and T.Conboy, North Western Board Delegates-Michael Brennan and Paul Beirne. Pitch C-ordinator-Martin Purcell, Pitch Management Cttee-M.Purcell, P.Beirne, John Cummins and Shane Spellman.
Tributes were paid to Gary Wynne who is stepping down from the position of senior team manager after two years due to family committments. Gary, in giving a detailed account of his term as team manager returned thanks to the players and officials for their co-operation and he expressed his dissappointment that greater success wasn't achieved.

The new senior team manager is David O'Connor with Bernie Shannon, Dave O'Daly and Stephen Bohan. Junior team manager will be Bernie Shannon, with Aidan Lavin and Paul Beirne. The Under 21s will be managed by David Casey with Martin Purcell, Ciaran Supple and Joe Sweeney.
The meeting passed a vote of sympathy to all Club members who suffered bereavements in 2011 and it sent good wishes to all Club members and family members who are experiencing illness at present.
The long awaited U16 Division 1 League Semi Final versus Michael Glaveys is due to be played in the Abbey Park on Sunday next at 2.30pm. This depends on an U21 result next Friday.

Plans are being finalised for the social night of the year which will be held in St. Joseph's Hall on Wednesday 28th December. This year the format will be changed as the annual quiz will be amalgamated with the annual presentation of players of the year awards. The event will also feature music and bar facilities,to make a very interesting night's entertainment.
Go raibh maith agaibh,
Martin Dolan
P.R.O. Boyle GAA Club
086 2413529

No comments: